Book Review: The Good Widow by Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke [Kindle First]

*This book review is SPOILER FREE*

If you have Amazon Prime and a Kindle I would seriously recommend making the most of Kindle First. This brilliant feature gives you the option to choose from one of six pre-release novels. Each book is from a different genre which means that there should be at least one thing that tickles your fancy. In April, I chose to read the historical fiction novel Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan and I really enjoyed it.

In May, I chose the domestic suspense novel The Good Widow. This book was written by Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke who have been best friends for over 25 years. Now that I think about it, I might investigate some books written by co-authors and write a post about it. It seems like an interesting topic for discussion.

The Good Widow follows the character Jacqueline ‘Jacks’ Morales as she struggles to come to terms with the circumstances surrounding her husband (and his lover’s) sudden death and the subsequent discovery of his unfaithfulness. As you would expect from a suspense novel, everything is not what it seems.

I thought the idea behind this novel was intriguing. An affair in Hawaii. The tragic, untimely death of two lovers. A spouse and a fiancé left behind to pick up the pieces. Unfortunately, the execution of the story was slightly lacking. For example, I was really looking forward to the suspense of this story. However, the foreshadowing was pretty heavy-handed which makes it much easier to figure out a major plot twist well before it happens.

Overall, the novel was well written and easy to follow. The story switches between the narrative of Jacks and her husband’s lover, Dylan. This means that the reader not only experiences a shift in POV but also in time (i.e. before and after the fatal car crash). This technique is suspense building but is also the reason why the plot became so predictable.

Perhaps the main reason this novel fell short for me is because I didn’t really connect with the protagonist, Jacks. Rather, I found the secondary characters more interesting and dynamic. I suspect this was probably because Jack’s character was accompanied by a lot of boring exposition. I also couldn’t get to grips with her motivations for making certain decisions.

Ultimately, this novel is a quick and easy read that many people (according to Goodreads) have thoroughly enjoyed. Although The Good Widow wasn’t particularly my cup of tea, I found it interesting to read something that I wouldn’t usually pick up in a bookstore.

 

 

Leave a Reply

