Graduating from Uni and Future Plans // GABIABI

Last month, I graduated from the University of Stirling with a first class BA (Hons) degree in English Studies. My time at university has truly been enlightening, challenging and fun. Living away from home has taught me a lot about responsibility and how to fend for myself. I have also made friends with some amazing people who I am very proud of. All in all, I wouldn’t change these past four years for the world… but what next?

Grad
Pffft this definitely wasn’t the fifth take of me strutting my stuff down the path 😉

I want to say that I am always looking for new ways to push myself but that’s not strictly true. The reality is, by the final year of uni, I still wasn’t sure what direction I even wanted to push myself in let alone doing any actual pushing. Eventually, I decided to focus on a career in publishing. I received a conditional offer to do the MSc in Publishing Studies at Edinburgh Napier University. I even joined the Society of Young Publishers (SYP) and went to their annual conference. On the surface, it looked like I was firmly headed somewhere. Underneath it all, I was unsure that this was the right path for me.

Dissertation
The infamous Stirling Uni dissertation loch pic

Creative Writing has always been a subject that I have been passionate about. As such, during my final year at university, I decided to do a Creative Writing dissertation. Sadly, during this time, my dissertation supervisor unexpectedly passed away. She was a great source of support and encouragement to me and I was deeply shocked and saddened to hear that she was no longer with us. Her sudden passing forced me to stop and reevaluate what I was doing my life. My supervisor had great faith in my ability as a writer. Therefore, I decided to apply for the MLitt in Creative Writing at the University of Stirling. Thankfully, I was successful in my application and will be returning to Stirling in September.

I still feel very nervous and uncertain about the future but at least now I know that I will be doing something I love. As Eleanor Roosevelt once said: ‘The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams’. So, here I am, believing in my dreams and forging a future for myself. Now, please excuse me whilst I go and vomit over the cheesiness of this blog post. Feel free to do the same.

 

Leave a Reply

